OXFORD’S MPs voted against the Government’s bid to extract the UK from European Union law in time for Brexit.

On Monday MPs backed the EU Withdrawal Bill by 326 votes to 290.

The bill, which will end the supremacy of EU law in the UK, now moves onto its next parliamentary stage.

Labour’s Oxford East MP Anneliese Dodds said: “Labour tried to amend the government’s EU Withdrawal Bill to allow much more scrutiny and debate about its proposals, but this amendment did not pass.

“As a result, I voted against the EU Withdrawal Bill. Whether people voted to Leave or to Remain, they did not vote for government ministers to give themselves unaccountable powers over huge swathes of legislation - but that is what the EU Withdrawal Bill does.

“I will now try to work with others to get the Bill amended during the so-called ‘committee stage’, because it amounts to an unnecessary and unacceptable ‘power grab’ by government.”

Liberal Democrat MP for Oxford West and Abingdon Layla Moran also voted against the Government.

She said: ““I am concerned that – far from giving back control to our Parliamentary democracy – this legislation has become a power grab by government ministers and civil servants who could use these undemocratic delegated powers to stop MPs from scrutinising the process and voting on laws.”

Ms Moran added she would now seek ways to amend and improve the legislation as it moved forward.