Notts include three former England Test players in the side to face Oxford MCCU in the opening first-class fixture of the season in The Parks, starting today (11).

Captain Chris Read, who played the last of his 15 Tests against Australia at Sydney in 2007, leads a side which also features all-rounder Samit Patel and paceman Ajmal Shahzad, who have also represented England in the Test arena.

England Test batsman James Taylor misses the three-day match with a side strain.

Three Oxfordshire club players are included in the Oxford MCCU side.

Aston Rowant batsman Nick Ferraby and seamer Karl Penhale are named alongside Banbury opener Lloyd Sabin.

Ben Jeffery hopes to shrug off a toe injury sustained in a practice match against Leicestershire, but Henry Hughes is on stand-by.

Oxford MCCU: Sabin, Leach, Paternott, Marriott (capt), Ferraby, Jeffery, Martin, Weller, Morris, Penhale, Marsden. 12th man: Hughes.

Notts: from Read (capt), Patel, Shahzad, Wessels, Hutton, Kelsall, Wood, Ball, Fletcher, Carter, Mullaney, Gurney.