SKIPPER Jonny Cater is looking to build on their thrilling victory over Cornwall when Oxfordshire face Dorset in their Unicorns Counties Trophy contest at Bashley on Sunday.

Oxon won by one run in a nail-biting contest, with their opponents just failing to score the 13 runs from the final over bowled by Ollie Wright.

“Ollie bowled five good balls under pressure to see us home,” said a relieved Cater.

“Now we need two more wins to get out of the group into the knockout stages.”

Oxon make a number of changes for the Dorset clash.

The late withdrawal of paceman Karl Penhale with a hamstring injury left them a seamer short against Cornwall, so Horspath skipper Will Eason makes his competitive one-day debut, in place of late call-up Jack Wilkins.

“Will won’t blast sides out, but he puts the ball in good areas and gives us control, “ said Cater.

Also making his one-day debut is promising batsman Jordan Garrett, who was unable to play in the opening match due to his ties with Gloucestershire. He comes in for Jamie Perkin.

Harrison Ward continues to be unavailable as St Edward’s School have first call on his services, while school commitments also keep out Ollie Clarke, who batted well against Cornwall.

He is replaced by Great and Little Tew’s Harry Smith.

Cater lauded the performance of 18-year-old spinner Harvey Eltham, who bowled his ten overs for 25 runs.

“Harvey’s started the season with great confidence and is a very important member of the side,” said the skipper.

Although Dorset lost their opening match against Devon, Cater said they could not be taken lightly.

“They have Max Waller and Jigar Naik, who are with Somerset and Leicestershire respectively and are a bit like us in a transitional stage.

‘It’s a competitive group, from which we will be pleased to progress.”

Oxfordshire: J Cater (Buckingham Tn) capt, L Bethell (Aston Rowant), H Smith (Gt & Little Tew), W Eason (Horspath), H Eltham (Oxford), J Garrett (Great & Little Tew), R Kaufman (Old Northamptonians), L Ryan (Spencer) L Sabin (Banbury) R West (Banbury), O Wright (Banbury).