GEORDIE Grant and Caroline Caldicutt became first-time singles champions in contrasting styles at the Cowley Workers ODDA Winter League finals night.

The men’s final between Grant (Cowley Workers Club) and the Queens Head’s Andrew Quinn was a thriller.

Quinn took the first leg after Grant had opened up with two 140s, but the Cowley Workers player levelled even though his opponent had a maximum.

A thrilling last leg saw both players have chances, before Grant clinched the title by hitting double 16 in a match that produced 13 ton-plus scores.

Meanwhile, Caldicutt (Red Lion Cassington) – a first-time finalist – defeated defending ladies’ singles champion Carol Smith (Witney Snooker Club) 2-0 with a nerveless display of finishing.

The men’s pairs title went to the Kidlington Green duo of Joe Palmer and Dave Fowler who came from behind to beat Mark Breakspear and Simon Smith (Abingdon United SC).

With the match tied at 1-1 and both teams needing 24 for the title, Palmer hit double nine and double three to claim the crown.

Ladies’ pairs specialists Christine and Sharon Thompson (Blackbird Bar) defeated Carol Smith and Greta Britnell (Witney Snooker Club) 2-0.

The Thompsons have been involved in 12 pairs finals since 2001.

The men’s Stadium Cup (four-a-side) was won by Palmer, Neal Russell, Sean Holly and Fowler, who defeated Abingdon United SC.

The ladies’ three-a-side final was a triumph for Paulette Guy, Hazel Prowton and Carol Smith (Witney Snooker Club), who overcame the Thompson sisters and Jayne Godfrey (Blackbird Bar).

In the Mixed Pairs Cup, the 2016 runners-up Rob Smith and Katrina Blackman (Kidlington FC) got the better of Alan Hunter and Debbie Stevens (Blackbird Leys Bowls Club).

The men’s Seven-a-side Cup produced an amazingly close contest. With the scores level at 3-3, Steven Wilks pipped Matty Brain to see Abingdon home.

By contrast, Blackbird Bar eased past Section 1 winners Blackbird Leys Bowls Club 4-1 in the ladies’ Seven-a-side final thanks to wins from Christine Thompson, Sue Simms, Sharon Thompson and Sue Smith.Lyn Bayliss replied for the losers.