OXFORD University captain Dom Waldouck insists his side are not dwelling on the past and are ready to reclaim the Varsity Match trophy.

The Dark Blues take on Cambridge University at Twickenham next Thursday in the 147th edition of the annual fixture.

Oxford are bidding to avoid a hat-trick of defeats at the home of English rugby and both sides have named experienced squads.

The Iffley Road-based team name seven Blues in their starting XV, with Waldouck, Dan Barley, Conor Kearns, Tom Stileman, John Aaron Henry, Joe Morris and Charlie Pozniak all looking to avenge back-to-back defeats.

Among the new faces is lock George Robson, who made nearly 200 appearances during a ten-year spell with Harlequins.

But they come up against a confident Cambridge side which head into the crunch clash on the back of four straight wins and have ten players from last year’s victory in their 23-man squad.

Waldouck, whose side lost 33-14 at home to Richmond last week, insists the pressure is all on the Light Blues and is looking forward to leading Oxford out at Twickenham.

He said: “It is a clean slate every year and there isn’t much hang over from the last two Varsity matches.

“Cambridge, with all the experience they have, should go in as very firm favourites, but we enjoy being underdogs.

“We are a very tight group and the key will be executing on the day.”

The Women’s Varsity Match, which celebrates its 30th anniversary, precedes the men’s fixture.

Captain Abby D’Cruz has named seven returning Blues in her starting line-up as they bid to avenge last year’s 24-0 defeat.

Oxford head into the clash on the back of seven successive losses in the Premier Division of the BUCS League.

But D’Cruz is in high spirits ahead of next week’s clash.

She said: “The squad are really excited heading into next week.

“There’s a huge amount of talent within this team.”


Ransom, Barley, Kearns, Waldouck, Stileman, Humberstone, Tresidder, Parker, Henry, Morris, Dix, Robson, Pozniak, Miller, Kerneis. Reps: Navarajasegaran, Hennessy, King, Warr, Jones, McGagh, Jackson, Martin.


Hurton, Wigginton, Trott, D’Cruz, Potts, Kennedy, Ling, Ellender, Bidgood, Sopher, Opara, Collis, Bernia, Murison, Cooper. Reps: Cartwright, Rees, Durbin, Vodounon, Male, Wellens, Carter, Simpson.