DANIEL Robinson picked up the coveted Dave Richards Memorial Trophy when Blackbird Leys ABC hosted their 2019 fight night.

Despite losing his 64kg bout against Owen Gidman, of Bletchley ABC, Robinson was named the best home senior boxer of the night.

A determined display saw him go head-to-head with his opponent for three pulsating rounds, before the judges ruled in favour of his rival on a split decision in the final bout of the night.

Josh Olawole was another Blackbird Leys fighter to put up a good display but fail to record victory.

The home boxer was on top early on in the 80kg bout, but the height and reach of his rival, Chimera Ogbaugu (Strike ABC) eventually told as he recorded an unanimous decision.

There was, however, triple success for the host club.

Joe Gaul beat Kian Corssen (Silby ABC) on a split decision in a 60kg fight.

And Ivor Price produced a dominant display against Charlie Footit (Leicester Railwaymans ABC) in their 50kg bout, forcing his opponent to take a standing count and winning all three rounds on a unanimous decision.

Davis Shima was another to triumph, winning on a split

decision with an encouraging display in his 72kg contest against Kane Burton (Triumph ABC).

There was disappointment, however, for Ajay Desmond.

A promising start, which included some great combinations, had rival Tommy Lake (Northolt ABC) 60kg on the ropes early on.

But his opponent hit back and Desmond was forced to take two standing counts in the final round, which saw the fight stopped.

The bouts were preceded by a series of junior skill bouts, which saw Jacore Collins-Austin awarded the best home boxer accolade in his first fight.


37kg: Fardeen Karim (Blackbird Leys) v Harry Manley (Banbury). 40kg: Reynolds Price (Blackbird Leys) v George Jones (The Ring). 47kg: Jacore Collins-Austin (Blackbird Leys) v Joe Patterson (Berinsfield). 50kg: Jamal Franklin (Blackbird Leys) v Leo Morris (Walcot ABC). 58kg: Matvejs Kirenchenco (Blackbird Leys) v Ronnie Benkenstein (Synwell). 68kg: Zac Strong (Blackbird Leys) v Jack Dennison (Brookside).