BILLIARDS: Littlemore RBL are celebrating after being crowned Oxford & District League Division 1 champions.

Peter Franklin Routh and Malcolm Bough triumphed in their 2-1 win at home to Eynsham in the final round of matches.

Division 2 was decided in a crunch clash between hosts Ashton and leaders Abingdon Conservative Club.

Gorden Cook’s convincing win over Pete Fenn ended the home side’s bid, with the visitors earning a 2-1 win and claiming the title by three points.


Littlemore RBL 2, Eynsham 1; Ashton 1, Abingdon Con 2; Fieldside 2, Headington Con 1; Oxford Bowls 2, Thame 1.

SNOOKER: Thame B secured the Division 2 title when beating hosts Littlemore RBL A 4-2 in the penultimate week of the Oxford & District League.

Andrew Posey enjoyed two victories, while Ross Tarbox and Martin White also triumphed for the visitors.

The win saw them move an unassailable nine points clear of second-placed Witney.

The Division 1 title race goes down to the wire.

J’s Sports Bar A have closed to within one point of leaders Highfield B.

They beat Abingdon Conservative Club B 4-2 at home, thanks to the efforts of Matthew Challen and Salli Merola.


Premier/Div 1: Abingdon Con A 4, New Club A 2; J’s Sports Bar A 4, Abingdon Con B 2; Oracle A 5, Oracle B 1; Thame A 3, Littlemore RBL C 3; Woodstock 4, Highfield A 2.

Div 2: Littlemore RBL A 2, Thame B 4; Eynsham A 3, J’s Sports Bar C 3; EOCC 2, Oxford Bowls 4; New Club B 2, Eynsham B 4; Oracle C 4, Thame C 2.

Div 3: Green Road A 6, Littlemore RBL B 0; J’s Sports Bar D 4, House Club 2; Oracle F 2, Green Road B 4.