BRITISH Rail have completed the league and cup double for a second successive season.

The Oxford & District League Division 1 champions beat Forum D 411-384 at Gladiators Club to win the Aubrey Hughes Handicap Shield.

Despite starting 105 points behind, British Rail’s team of Darren Jones, Ian Mead and Richard Taylor slowly overhauled the deficit.

But they only held a slender lead after the singles, thanks to the efforts of Forum’s Pawel Zukowski, Jeremy Flint and John Barclay.

However, Forum dominated the doubles to earn victory.

Meanwhile, the league season has now come to a close, with Forum A securing second place in Division 1 after beating Vikings A 10-0 and Bicester A 9-1.

Their star man Elson Costa secured another maximum, finishing with a season average of 97 per cent which earned him the Warner Cup.

Bicester D emerged as Division 3 winners, despite losing their final game.

They were beaten 6-4 by their E side, but still finished one point ahead of their clubmates.


Div 1: Bicester A 1, Forum A 9 (F Harris 3, K Bushell 3, E Costa 3); Forum B 2, RAL 8 (B Gagliardi 3); Forum A 10 (G Boone 3, K Bushell 3, F Harris 3), Vikings A 0; Bicester A 3, RAL 7 (L Waddup 3).

Div 2: Gladiators B 8 (C Westbury 3, S Garcia Castillo 3), Forum E 2; Bicester B 6 (J Felton 3, G Butcher 3), Gladiators B 4; Gladiators B 4, Bicester B 6 (J Felton 3, G Butcher 3); Gladiators A 3, Forum H 7 (R Hambridge 3, A Anstis 3); Bicester B 6 (J Felton 3), Holton A 4; Vikings B 5, Forum H 5 (A Anstis 3); Gladiators B 5, Begbroke 5.

Div 3: Forum I 4 (J Smith 3), Holton C 6; Bicester D 4, Bicester E 6 (M Taylor 3, M Hooker 3); Forum J 2, Vikings D 8 (H Du Boulay 3); Holton B 3 (B Ford 3), Bicester C 7; Holton D w/o Forum I; Bicester D w/o Forum J 0; Vikings D w/o Holton C; Forum J w/o Holton B 0.